Tuesday, January 15, 2008

 

The domain name adds supplemental notes - Chinese Domain Trademark Scam

The Chinese Trademark Domain Name Scare Scam is still going on. This is the second time they have contacted me, so I am again posting their stupid scam message to my blog so others won't be fooled.

They are lying about someone contacting them and trying to register your names. And if you do want to protect your domains, DON'T register with this company, they will overcharge you big time, if they even provide any service at all....!!!
 
-----Original Message-----
From: eryacarl [mailto:eryacarl@foxmail.com]
Sent: Tuesday, January 15, 2008 7:15 PM
To:  webmaster 
Subject: The domain name adds supplemental notes

Dear CEO,

 

We are the domain name registration organization in Asia, which mainly deal with international company's in Asia. We have something important need to confirm with your company.

 

On the Jan.14, 2008, we received an application formally. One company named:Xianhou  Limited Company" wanted to register following Domain names:

 


 nielsentech.cc   
 nielsentech.cn   
 nielsentech.com.cn   
 nielsentech.com.hk   
 nielsentech.com.tw   
 nielsentech.hk   
 nielsentech.info   
 nielsentech.mobi   
 nielsentech.net   
 nielsentech.net.cn   
 nielsentech.org   
 nielsentech.org.cn   
 nielsentech.tw  

 

Internet brand keyword:

 

nielsentech

through our body.

 

After our initial examination, we found that the keywords and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company's name and trademark. These days we are dealing with it. If you do not know this company, we doubt that they have other aims to buy these domain names. Now we have not finished the registration of  Xianhou company yet, in order to deal with this issue better, Please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.

 

Best Regards,

 

caril

 


Sponsoring Registrar: China Net Technology Limited

Address:3A, Units 20/F,Zhongxin Mansion, Dingxiang Raod, Nanchang, China 

Tel:0086-791-3728123

Fax:0086-791-3728123

Email: eryacarl@foxmail.com

 

 
 
 

Comments:
That's very true, thanks for sharing. We cover this as well in our blog:
http://blog.sinohosting.net/beware-of-chinese-domain-names-fraud/

It seems that the scammers are using some softwares to send emails to addresses listed on WHOIS. And although they claim to be Chinese, that may not necessarily be the case, as one of them has responded on our blog and the IP addresses indicated he/she was located in Mumbai, India
 
Thank you for your comment. You may be correct that the scammers are not really Chinese, but the domain registrar that is involved is Chinese, and so that is while I felt it was ok to call this a "Chinese scam". As well all know, IP addresses can be faked or spoofed with proxy servers, so a Chinese scammer could be using a server in India to conver their tracks. From what I have heard about the Chinese government's attitude to criminals, I would do the same thing...
 
Post a Comment





<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?     Avandia     Ebay Auction Ads     Mesothelioma     Mesothelioma

Subscribe to Posts [Atom]